

All Party Parliamentary Group for the Wood Panel Industry

Inaugural Meeting Wednesday 15th July 2020, 3:00pm **Minutes Attendees:-**Industry Attendees: Alastair Kerr Director General, Wood Panel Industries Federation Director for Environment, Health and Safety, Norbord Steve Roebuck Timber Procurement Executive, Kronospan Chris Emery Heiko Lichtblau Plant Director Technical/ Production, EGGER (UK) John Paterson Manager, EGGER (UK) Mark Cummings Invicta Public Affairs Ross Stephen Invicta Public Affairs Stephen Kerr Chair, Expert Working Group for the Wood Panel Industry Brian Wilson Member of the Expert Working Group for the Wood Panel Industry Members of Parliament in Attendance: Selaine Saxby MP Conservative Member of Parliament for North Devon Megan Williams Office of Selaine Saxby MP (Con, North Devon) Gareth Bacon MP Conservative Member of Parliament for Bexley and Bromley Simon Baynes MP Conservative Member of Parliament for Clwyd South Lord Ian Duncan Allan Dorans MP SNP Member of Parliament for Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock Jo Gideon MP Conservative Member of Parliament for Stoke on Trent Central Conservative Member of Parliament for Brecon and Radnorshire Fay Jones MP Damien Moore MP Conservative Member of Parliament for Southport David Mundell MP Conservative Member of Parliament for Dumfriesshire and Tweeddale Ian Murray MP Labour Member of Parliament for Edinburgh South Mark Pawsey MP Conservative Member of Parliament for Rugby Mary Robinson MP Conservative Member of Parliament for Cheadle Julian Sturdy MP Conservative Member of Parliament for York Outer Lord Jim Wallace Giles Watling MP Conservative Member of Parliament for Clacton Conservative Member of Parliament for South Derbyshire Heather Wheeler MP Conservative Member of Parliament for Hazel Grove William Wragg MP

Apologies:

Lord Foulkes of Cumnock		
Drew Hendry MP	SNP Member of Parliament for Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey	
Neil Parish MP	Conservative Member of Parliament for Tiverton and Honiton	
Stephen Crabb MP	Conservative Member of Parliament for Preseli Pembrokeshire	

Minutes:

Stephen Kerr: Opened the meeting on behalf of the wood panel industry and thanked all for attending virtually.

Election

Stephen Kerr: Led the election of the following office bearers:

- Selaine Saxby MP Proposed by Mark Pawsey MP; Seconded by Heather Wheeler MP
- All Vice-Chairs Proposed by Giles Watling MP; Seconded by Mary Robinson MP

The following office bearers were duly elected:

Chair	Selaine Saxby MP (Chair)	Conservative
Chan	Serune Suxby Wit (Chuit)	(North Devon)
Vice Chair	Mark Jenkinson MP (Vice Chair)	Conservative
		(Workington)
Vice Chair	Fay Jones MP (Vice Chair)	Conservative
		(Brecon and Radnorshire)
*Vice Chair	Neil Parish MP (Vice Chair)	Conservative
		(Tiverton and Honiton)
Vice Chair	Ian Murray MP (Vice Chair)	Labour
		(Edinburgh South)
*Vice Chair	Alan Brown MP (Vice Chair)	SNP
		(Kilmarnock and Loudoun)
*Vice Chair	Jim Shannon MP (Vice Chair)	DUP
		(Strangford)
Vice Chair	Lord Wallace of Tankerness	Liberal Democrat
	(Vice Chair)	
*Vice Chair	Ben Lake (Vice Chair)	Plaid Cymru
		(Ceredigion)

*Elected with consent in absentia.

Stephen Kerr: Confirmed all those in attendance as registered supporters of the APPG for the Wood Panel Industry.

Selaine Saxby MP: Addressed the APPG for the Wood Panel Industry and thanked all for their support. Ms Saxby confirmed that we will come forward with a programme of raising the profile of the industry from September 2020 now.

Mark Cummings: Provided an update on the Expert Working Group for the Wood Panel Industry and secured a unanimous mandate asking the Expert Working Group to refresh their 2019 Policy and Baseline Report. It was agreed that the APPG for the Wood Panel Industry will meet in September to consider and approve the Report. Thereafter, a date will be set for the Report to be launched.

Selaine Saxby MP: Asked attendees whether there was any further business and thereafter, closed the meeting.

Date of Next Meeting: September 2020